First DUIs in Colorado: What to Expect
Being charged with a DUI for the first time can be a scary and overwhelming experience, especially when these charges are the first significant criminal cases people are forced to face. Although first DUIs in Colorado can come with some serious penalties, the accused should know that:
- DUI charges do not have to end with convictions.
- First DUIs can be easier and more important to defend than subsequent DUIs, as the accused won’t have a criminal record of drunk driving convictions (and mounting a strong defense against these charges can be critical to reducing the chances of conviction and a criminal record).
- The Broomfield and Boulder DUI defense attorneys at Peter Loyd Weber & Associates will be ready to help the accused build the strongest possible defense so they can bring their cases to successful resolutions.
At Peter Loyd Weber & Associates, we understand how damaging DUI convictions can be, and our Broomfield and Boulder DUI defense lawyers have extensive experience successfully resolving cases associated with people’s first DUIs in Colorado.
First DUIs in Colorado: DWAI versus DUI Charges
Colorado law differentiates between driving while ability is impaired (DWAI) versus driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI), with the specific difference being that:
- DWAI charges are generally for cases in which a person’s blood alcohol content (BAC) was 0.05 percent at the time of arrest.
- DUI charges are typically for cases in which people have BACs of 0.08 percent or greater.
First DUIs in Colorado: The Penalties
The penalties for first DUIs in Colorado have been getting increasingly severe in recent years, and people accused of drunk driving should be aware that they could face criminal, as well as administrative, penalties if they are ultimately convicted of these charges.
Specifically, the penalties for first DUIs in Colorado (for people 21 and older) can include:
- Court Penalties:
- Jail time – 5 days to 1 year (though jail time may be suspended in some cases if people agree to complete an alcohol treatment program)
- Court fines – $600 to $1,000
- Community service – 48 to 96 hours
- Additional court-ordered requirements – In some cases, people may also be ordered by the court to complete an alcohol treatment program, have an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle(s), be under probation for a certain period of time, etc.
- Administrative Penalties (from the Colorado Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles):
- Driver’s license suspension – 9 months
- Points added to a driving record – 12
Here, it’s important to point out that:
- The penalties explained above may not be the only penalties for first DUIs, as convicted people may also have to deal with other impacts that have not specifically be court ordered. For instance, people convicted of first DUIs in Colorado may also end up losing their jobs, having their professional reputations damaged, paying extremely high auto insurance rates for years to come, etc.
- There can be various, viable defense arguments for first DUIs in Colorado, and having an experienced defense attorney on your side will be essential to favorably resolving these charges and cases.
Broomfield and Boulder DUI Defense Attorneys at Peter Loyd Weber & Associates
Have you or a loved one been charged with a first-time DUI? If so, the Broomfield and Boulder DUI defense attorneys at the Peter Loyd Weber & Associates are ready to immediately start defending you. Dedicated to protecting our clients at every phase of their cases, our Broomfield and Boulder DUI defense attorneys:
- Can guide you through the intricacies and complexities of the criminal justice system
- Have the knowledge necessary to provide you with effective, aggressive legal advocacy
- Are committed to providing each of our clients with personalized care and cost-effective representation.
We have a proven record of success and excellence in helping our clients favorably resolve their criminal cases, and we are ready to put our experience, knowledge and skills to work for you.
Let’s Discuss Your Defense – Contact Us Today
To talk about your best options for your DUI defense and how we can help you, call us today at (720) 863-7755 or email us using the contact form on this page. We offer complimentary consultations, and we take pride in always being available to our clients – 24 hours per day, 7 days per week – so that they have the personal attention their case deserves.
From our offices based in Northglenn, Broomfield and Boulder, we provide the strongest defense and highest quality legal services to our clients throughout Weld County, Adams County and the state of Colorado.