Since the felony DUI law took effect in Colorado on August 5th, more than 20 people in the state have been charged with felony drunk driving, according to authorities. These cases include:
- 1 in Jefferson County
- 2 in Denver
- 7 in Douglas and Arapahoe Counties
- 11 in Broomfield and Adams Counties
How these cases proceed and are resolved will likely be followed by many, as this will be the first handful of felony DUI cases to be litigated in the state.
What Are the Punishments for Felony DUIs?
People convicted of felony DUIs in Colorado can receive up to 6 years in prison and up to $500,000 in fines, along with various other penalties, which can include (but are by no means limited to):
- The loss of driving privileges (for years)
- Mandatory alcohol treatment and/community service
- Lengthy parole terms.
Interestingly, however, these penalties can be reduced or suspended in favor of treatment if the accused person shows a willingness to participate in treatment.
What You Should Know When Facing Felony DUI Charges
- Three prior DUI convictions are generally necessary before felony DUI charges are filed in Colorado – And these DUI convictions do not have to be in Colorado. They can be in other states and still count against you in Colorado for the purposes of determining priors. When felony DUI charges are filed in Colorado, they will usually be Class 4 felony charges.
- Stoned or drugged driving can count as a DUI in Colorado – Currently, in Colorado, there are not distinct charges for drugged or stoned driving. So, if you have three prior drunk driving convictions and then are arrested for allegedly driving while stoned (or under influence of another drug that affects your driving abilities), you can be charged with a felony DUI.
- Felony DUI cases are defendable – This may be the most important fact for motorists to know, as they have rights, regardless of whether they may have been convicted of DUI in the past. In fact, many of the defense arguments that are viable in first-time DUI cases may still work in felony DUI cases, and an experienced lawyer can help identify the best DUI defense strategies for a give case, based on the details of that case.
Contact an Adams County and Boulder DUI Lawyer at Peter Loyd Weber & Associates
Have you or a loved one been charged with a DUI? If so, an Adams County and Boulder DUI lawyer at Peter Loyd Weber & Associates is ready to immediately start defending you. Our primary concern is protecting your constitutional rights throughout the criminal process while helping you obtain the best possible outcome to your case.
To talk about your defense and how we can help you, call us today at (720) 863-7755 or email us using the contact form on this page. We offer complimentary consultations, and we take pride in always being available to our clients – 24 hours per day, 7 days per week – so that they have the personal attention their case deserves.
From our offices based in Northglenn, Broomfield and Boulder, we provide the strongest defense and highest quality legal services to our clients throughout Weld County, Adams County and the state of Colorado.