If you’ve never been convicted of a driving-under-the-influence of alcohol (DUI) or drug (DUID) related charge before, but sudden wake up with a banging hangover in a jail cell or detox center, you’ll experience many emotions such as confusion, extreme guilt, and remorse. Probably the last thing on your mind will be the latest part of the penalty phase that’s required of anyone in Colorado, who receives a “DUI per Se,” which is the installation of an ignition interlock device in your car should you want to continue to drive again. In this blog article, our Boulder DUI lawyer take a look at whether or not you’ll need an ignition interlock device in your car as a result of your DUI.

So, yes, if you voluntarily take a breathalyzer or blood test that comes back with a blood alcohol content level of .08% or more alcohol, you’ll be blowing into one of those embarrassing contraptions. Think of it as your personal “Scarlett Letter,” but a contemporary version of the same. You can be assured other motorists and your neighbors will all see you blowing in it too.

When Will I Be Required to Have an Ignition Interlock Installed in My Vehicle?

Is IID mandatory after DUI | Boulder DUI Lawyer

Will I have to have an IID after getting a CO DUI?

Not only have advancements in technology allowed drivers that receive DUI convictions to get back on the roads faster with a restricted license, but Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) actually spearheaded the call for legislation that now helps drivers in Colorado only wait a month until they can apply for reinstatement. The following are Colorado regulations that govern the type of offense and length of time required to carry an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle after DUI convictions.

  • 8 Month IID – 1st Per Se or DUI conviction with a BAC lower than .15 percent. Eligible for reinstatement of a restricted license after one month waiting period.
  • 2 Year IID – 1st Per Se or DUI conviction with a BAC of .15 percent or higher. Eligible for reinstatement of a restricted license after one month waiting period.
    • For 2nd Per Se or more – 2 year IID required for each offense.

Penalty for Non-Compliance

Folks who try to be sneaky and operate a vehicle aside from the one they have an IID set up in, or try and outsmart the IID system somehow are subject to a pretty hefty punishment. First of all, it has become nearly impossible to deceive the IID system because they all come standard with cameras now, so Big Brother will see if you are cheating or not.

  • The penalty for driving a vehicle other than your own equipped with an IID is revocation of your driver’s license for one year.
  • Cancelling the IID lease before completing the allotted time required that it be in your vehicle will result in suspension of license until a new IID lease is purchased.
  • Blowing hot into your Breathalyzer three or more times in a 12-month period can result in suspension of driving privileges and extended IID requirement time, including up to one year for each set of three blow failures.

Contact a Boulder DUI Lawyer at Peter Loyd Weber & Associates

Have you or a loved one been charged with a DUI? If so, an experienced Boulder DUI lawyer at Peter Loyd Weber & Associates is ready to immediately start defending you. Dedicated to protecting our DUI clients from petty charges ranging from municipal code violations to felony charges, our Adams County and Boulder DUI attorneys:

  • Can guide you through the intricacies and nuances of your DUI case
  • Have the knowledge necessary to provide you with effective, aggressive DUI legal defense
  • Are committed to providing each of our DUI clients with compassion, professionalism and cost-effective representation.

Feel free to call us today at (720) 863-7755 or email us using the contact form on this page.  We offer a free initial consultation, and we take pride in always being available – 24 hours per day, 7 days per week – so you’ll get the attention and service you deserve.

We’re located in Northglenn, Broomfield and Boulder, and we can provide a vigorous defense and the highest quality legal services to our DUI clients throughout Weld County, Adams County and the state of Colorado.