Can I Get a DUI Expunged from My Record in Colorado?
March 22, 2016

Whether a Colorado DUI can be expunged from your criminal record depends on the outcome of the DUI case, as well as some other factors, which we will reveal below. Who Qualifies for DUI Expungement in Colorado? DUI expungements in Colorado are generally an option when: DUI arrests do not result in DUI charges; or […]

Colorado Pot DUIs Drop in 2015, CSP Reports
February 24, 2016

From 2014 to 2015, the number of motorists in Colorado who were cited for allegedly driving under the influence of marijuana declined, according to the latest reports from the Colorado State Patrol (CSP). While this is only the second year that authorities have been tracking marijuana-related DUI citations in the state, it may be the […]

CO Troopers Try Out Pot Saliva Testing Devices to Assess Motorists for THC Impairment
February 18, 2016

Colorado law enforcement authorities are stepping up their efforts to target impaired motorists and arrest those who drive under the influence of drugs. While some of these efforts include training more officers to be drug recognition experts, over the past year, they have also included the use of new testing devices to try to better […]

Do All States Share DUI Arrest Information?
February 12, 2016

No, but most of them do. And that is because every state in the nation, with the exception of five states, has adopted the Interstate Driver’s License Compact (IDLC), an agreement between member states to exchange information regarding drivers’ traffic infractions. With the motto One Drive, One License, One Record, the IDLC is focused on […]

Will I Lose My Driver’s License after a DUI Arrest in Colorado?
February 6, 2016

Whether your license will be suspended after a drunk driving arrest in Colorado will depend on the circumstances of your DUI stop – and what you do following your arrest. When DUI Arrests Result in Drivers’ License Suspensions When motorists refuse to submit to blood alcohol content (BAC) testing during the DUI stop – These […]

What States Have the Toughest DUI Laws?
January 12, 2016

Over the past three decades or so, federal and state authorities have been focused on cracking down on impaired drivers. While this effort has been key in establishing the legal limit of 0.08 for drunk driving throughout the nation, the DUI laws in various states have evolved in different ways over the years, with some […]

Can I Be Punished in Colorado for a DUI conviction in Another State?
January 6, 2016

Yes, DUI convictions acquired in other states may result in your penalties being imposed in Colorado, depending on the state where the DUI occurred. This is because Colorado, along with the District of Columbia and 44 other states in the U.S., have adopted the Interstate Driver’s License Compact (IDLC), an agreement between member states to […]

When Are Colorado DUIs Felonies?
December 17, 2015

A DUI arrest in Colorado will generally be followed by felony charges when the individual has at least three prior DUI convictions. In these cases, the charges will usually be filed as Class 4 felonies, which can be punishable by up to 6 years in prison and fines of up to $500,000. Colorado Felony DUIs: […]

Do I Have to Submit to Field Sobriety Testing during a DUI Stop?
December 10, 2015

No, you are not legally obligated to submit to field sobriety testing during a traffic stop. And, if you do refuse this testing, you will not incur any automatic penalties. Field Sobriety Testing in DUI Stops: Here’s What You Should Know When it comes to field sobriety testing during DUI traffic stops, here is some […]

FAQs about Express Consent Laws & DUIs
November 15, 2015

Understanding the laws that come into play during DUI stops – like the express consent law – can be essential to knowing how to protect your rights. Shedding some light on how the express consent law can impact you, below are answers to some of the most frequently asked questions about it. When you need […]