Ending our blog series 6 Things to Know about Colorado Sex Offender Registration Requirements, below, we will reveal some additional important info you should know if you’ve been ordered to register as a sex offender in Colorado.
Additional Important Info about Colorado Sex Offender Registration Requirements
Fact 5 – The nature of the sex offense for which you were convicted will dictate how long you will be required to register as a Colorado sex offender.
In particular, the following table outlines when you may petition the court to discontinue your requirement to register as a Colorado sex offender:
|Nature of the Offense/Conviction||When to Seek Discontinuation from the Court|
|Class 1 to 3 Felonies*||20 years**|
|Class 4 to 6 Felonies||10 years**|
|Third-Degree Sexual Assault||10 years**|
|Unlawful Sexual Contact(a Class 1 Misdemeanor)||10 years**|
|Other Misdemeanors||5 years**|
*As long as these felony offenses do not require quarterly registration.
**Indicates the number of years from the date of the “final release from the jurisdiction of the court,” according to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation.
Here, it’s also important to point out that the following people are NOT eligible to seek relief of their requirement to register as a Colorado sex offender:
- People who are considered to be “sexually violent predators”
- People who have been convicted of multiple sex offenses
- People who are required to register as a Colorado sex offender on a quarterly basis.
Fact 6 – There are very serious penalties for failing to register as a Colorado sex offender.
If you fail to meet your Colorado sex offender registry requirements in any way, you can face criminal charges of Failing to Register as a Sex Offender. In the event that you are charged with Failure to Register and your initial sex offense conviction was a:
- Misdemeanor, then the Failure to Register charge will also be filed as a misdemeanor criminal charge.
- Felony, then the Failure to Register charge will also be filed as a felony criminal charge.
Additionally, your failure to register will be noted online and in any records related to your registering as a Colorado sex offender. You will have to wait at least one year (and during this time be in compliance with all of the requirements for registering as a Colorado sex offender) before you are eligible to petition the court to remove this notice/distinction from your records.
Broomfield and Boulder Sex Crimes Defense Attorneys at Peter Loyd Weber & Associates
Have you or a loved one been charged with sex crime? If so, the Broomfield and Boulder sex crimes defense attorneys at the Peter Loyd Weber & Associates are ready to immediately start defending you. Our primary concern is protecting your constitutional rights throughout the criminal process while helping you obtain the best possible outcome to your case.
To discuss your defense, call us today at (720) 863-7755 or email us using the contact form on this page. We offer complimentary consultations, and we take pride in always being available to our clients – 24 hours per day, 7 days per week – so that they have the personal attention their case deserves.
From our offices based in Northglenn, Broomfield and Boulder, we provide the strongest defense and highest quality legal services to our clients throughout Weld County, Adams County and the state of Colorado.