Sex crime convictions – unlike convictions for other types of offenses – can come with the additional requirement that people must register as a Colorado sex offender for a certain period of time.
In this three-part blog series, we will highlight some of the more important info people should know about Colorado sex offender registration requirements.
If you’ve been charged with a sex crime, need help getting removed from the Colorado sex offender registry or need any help defending yourself against criminal charges, don’t hesitate to contact the trusted Broomfield and Boulder sex crimes defense attorneys at the Peter Loyd Weber & Associates. We will aggressively defend your rights and work relentlessly to help you obtain the best possible outcomes to your criminal issues.
Colorado Sex Offender Registration Requirements: Here’s What You Should Know
Fact 1 – There are very specific Colorado sex offender registration requirements.
If you’ve been ordered by the court to register as a Colorado sex offender, you MUST:
- Register with the law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction over the town or city (or, if you live outside of city limits, the county) in which you live
- Register within 5 days of being released from custody or court supervision – If there is no court-ordered supervision, people may have to register the next business day after they’ve been released from custody.
- Register in every jurisdiction in which you reside and register anew when you move
- Register within 5 days of changing your name
- Provide a current picture, submit to fingerprinting and pay the necessary fees upon registration.
These are not the only Colorado sex offender registry requirements, however; so, it’s important for people required to register to be fully aware of the all of the requirements with which they are legally obligated to be in compliance.
Fact 2 – Convictions for even misdemeanor sex offenses can result in the requirement to register as a Colorado sex offender.
A common misconception people have when it comes to Colorado sex offender registration requirements is that only people convicted of serious felony sex offenses will be required to register. This couldn’t be further from the truth, however, as various misdemeanor sex offenses can come with this requirement upon conviction.
In fact, according to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI), convictions for the following misdemeanor sex offenses can result in having to register as a Colorado sex offender:
- Indecent exposure
- Public indecency (when people have prior convictions for this offense)
- Unlawful sexual contact.
What this can end up meaning is that people who are convicted of the above offenses because, for instance, they may have made the mistake of urinating in public, having a consensual sexual relationship with someone between 15 and 17 years old, etc. can end up having to register as Colorado sex offenders – maybe even for years to come.
For our continued discussion regarding Colorado sex offender registry requirements, don’t miss the upcoming second and third parts of this blog series.
Broomfield and Boulder Sex Crimes Defense Attorneys at Peter Loyd Weber & Associates
Have you or a loved one been charged with sex crime? If so, the Broomfield and Boulder sex crimes defense attorneys at the Peter Loyd Weber & Associates are ready to immediately start defending you. Our primary concern is protecting your constitutional rights throughout the criminal process while helping you obtain the best possible outcome to your case.
To talk about your defense and how we can help you, call us today at (720) 863-7755 or email us using the contact form on this page. We offer complimentary consultations, and we take pride in always being available to our clients – 24 hours per day, 7 days per week – so that they have the personal attention their case deserves.
From our offices based in Northglenn, Broomfield and Boulder, we provide the strongest defense and highest quality legal services to our clients throughout Weld County, Adams County and the state of Colorado.